RSS

Bark at the Dog Park

18 Jun

Sandi and I have been walking the boys on the Clear Creek Trail, which is right next to the new(ish) Silverdale Dog Park. If there’s nobody in the dog park we’ll let Coal and Wally loose for some rip-roaring fun. I love it because it tuckers Wally out; there’s nothing like a dog to wear out a dog.

The thing is, though, I don’t like dog parks. I love it when we’re the only ones there, but the instant somebody shows up we grab the pups and make a beeline for the exit.

Just on principle dog parks are a bad idea: a dozen dogs that have never met and suddenly find themselves grappling for hierarchy? I’ve seen people drive up , throw the gate open, and let their dog loose, giving no thought to potential consequences. I’ve seen a dog attacked at the park and, while it didn’t result in serious wounds, it was certainly scary to think of Wally being on the receiving end. Unless you personally know the other dogs it just seems like a bad idea to me.

Maybe I’m pessimistic, but I prefer to think of it as proactive. Wally is tiny! Even as an adult he’s only going to weigh about 15lb, which leaves him pretty defenseless against larger dogs. Plus I’m smart enough to know that dogs are individuals and not everybody gets along (some people don’t know this yet). Wally will have plenty of fun playing with one pal in an empty park, more than if there were 10 dogs in there!

 
Comments Off on Bark at the Dog Park

Posted by on June 18, 2011 in Other Stuff

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
