RSS

Nearly shat myself

25 Aug

I’ve always known that dogs should travel in crates or seatbelt  harnesses while in the car, but there’s a big difference between knowing and doing. From now on we will be DOING!

Yesterday I was stepping out of my car at Ridgetop when Wally bolted thru the door and proceeded to play zoomies in the parking lot. This would have been simply annoying except a Ford Ranger was driving by. In true Border fashion Wally didn’t even notice the death machine and just kept running around right in front of it. He literally ran circles right in front of the thing, damn dog. His enthusiasm is wonderful but not in that moment!

Fortunately the guy saw him and stopped while I claimed my wayward puppy. And to add insult to injury the whole thing happened right in front of Wayne. Talk about embarrassing!

From now on Wally will travel in his crate. That was WAY too close for comfort!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2011 in Wally

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Nearly shat myself

  1. Anonymous

    August 25, 2011 at 11:13 pm

    Sounds like it’s seatbelt harness shopping time!

     
    • Cassafrass

      August 26, 2011 at 8:10 am

      I looked at those but they’re $30+! Yowza! Since we have an extra crate I’ll see how that works first. :) Do you use the harness? How do you like it?

       
  2. John

    August 25, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    We have all been there and had that same indescribable feeling. As I think I told you I do rescue work and I was in Kutztown PA at the meeting site, a Super 8 Motel Parking lot just off the intersate. Anyway I had collected my lot and was putting the last one in his crate. He was a good sized brown lab type dog and he was very exuberant. He is a lovely dog. He was squirmy and I knew it and I had gotten him up into the car and into the crate. I don’t like to transport them with their leads on in the crate so I had slipped his off. (We use the slip loop kind in transports for safety and for simplicity). I was closing the crate gate when he pushed and squirmed between me, the gate, and the car door. He didn’t have a collar as he shot out so I made a decision in a New York nanosecond to grab for the tail as it went by. I did and I clamped on. Simultaneously I hollered as loud as I could HELP!. My hand closed the tail made a litttle clunk and he looked around like What is that! and though my control was not great I had so surprised him that he didn’t quite know what to do. At that instant a couple of other folks who heard the call came on the run to the rescue and we got him.

    He is a lovely dog to this day and safe with a great shelter volunteer. I adored him. But whew. My heart almost stopped. As the shelter director at the time liked to say: These dogs are not Lassie and you are not Timmy. I think Wally is much much better than that but they never do understand the danger.

    CRates and leads and all are necessary. I have another tail or tale like this too but they are always frightening.

     
    • Cassafrass

      August 25, 2011 at 1:33 pm

      Scary! Esp with a dog you don’t know, good thing he was such a sweetie. :)

       
  3. Liz Stabbert

    August 25, 2011 at 11:57 am

    AHH too scary! Naughty thing :-P

     
    • Cassafrass

      August 25, 2011 at 12:08 pm

      Ya, quite a huge dose of reality! Dang puppy

       
 
