RSS

Freaks me out

31 Aug

Yesterday was Quincy’s annual dental cleaning, a time of year I dread. Quincy is my 14 year old Manx cat, a big orange tough guy who has a penchant for biting when he’s irritated.

Every year for the past several years I’ve gotten his teeth cleaned at Banfield. Normally I avoid Banfield, but Dr Guzman is fabulous and the Wellness Plan is actually a pretty good deal. Instead of $450 in one lump sum (or $600 at some vets) I pay $300 over the course of one year, which covers the dental, blood work, urinalysis, and a bunch of other stuff. Plus this is the only thing Quincy ever goes to the vet for so it just made sense to sign up.

After having massive misgivings and coming -thisclose- to bursting into tears several times today, I decided that this was Quincy’s last dental for the rest of his life. I just can’t handle the stress! Not to mention Quincy; he loathes all vets. Every year I worry sick that something horrible will happen and as he’s gotten older the paranoia has only gotten worse. It doesn’t help that Quincy gets violent and requires heavy sedation just to take a blood sample. Thankfully Dr Guzman is very patient and called me several times throughout the day to give me updates and make sure I wanted to proceed. I will forever only have good things to say about Dr G.

Luckily everything went smoothly and Quincy has pearly whites again. From now on we’ll skip Banfield and go to Wheaton Way for rabies shots or any illnesses that crop up. I love Dr G for dentals but Banfield sucks for normal visits. So farewell Dr Guzman, I’m sure you won’t miss Quincy and his gnashing teeth!

P.S. If you plan to have dentals for your pet I would seriously consider the Banfield Wellness plans. They can save you hundreds of dollars just on a single dental! But I would go to a non-corporate vet for anything beyond maintenance stuff; in my experience Banfield is good for dentals and not much else.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 31, 2011 in Other Stuff

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Freaks me out

  1. John

    August 31, 2011 at 10:46 am

    I have had cat who lived to be 20 and my wife had one live to be 27!. In my case I don’t think we did teeth on them that often but I do think it makes a difference especially in cats that have heavy tartar build up. Rember too that cats don’t actually chew their food. So cats can do nicely sans teeth.

     
    • Cassafrass

      August 31, 2011 at 2:42 pm

      My mom had a cat live to be 24! I hope Quincy makes it another 10 years. I’ve never had a cat that didn’t chew its food, but I also never fed wet food, only dry.

       
 
