RSS

The over-achievers curse

29 Oct
Kesha in the music video being hit on by a guy...

Shut up, voice inside my head (Image via Wikipedia)

 

 

Rome wasn’t built in a day, walk before you run, blah blah blah. Yup, we’ve heard it. But I’m a perfectionist, which is actually a horrible trait, so I don’t want to walk before I run. I just want to run.

Jen Gresham wrote a blog post about 5 mistakes that over-achievers make, and I completely identified with each one.

Over-achievers suffer from…
1. The need to please (pressure to be traditionally successful)
2. Fear of failure (praising oneself for achievements rather than abilities)
3. An inability to take a step backwards (scrapping the present to build a better future from scratch)
4. Too many options (trying to optimize a problem that doesn’t have a single optimal answer, or “analysis paralysis”)
5. Too impatient (saying “it can’t be done” instead of “it takes too long”)

Hello self-description, where have you been hiding? On some level I had already recognized some of these traits in myself and was working to change them, but seeing it in print makes me pause for thought nonetheless. It makes me imagine how much happier and more satisfied I would be if I could change all these things. Probably a lot more of both!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2011 in Other Stuff

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “The over-achievers curse

  1. Jen Gresham

    October 30, 2011 at 5:05 am

    The best part is, once you know about them, you can put your over-achiever tendencies to work to change them. Glad you liked the post! :)

     
    • Cassafrass

      October 30, 2011 at 7:16 am

      Wow, thanks for the comment Jen! It feels like a rockstar visited. I love reading your blog, its so spot on and inspiring.

       
 
