RSS

Rubbing shoulders with celebrities

25 Jan

One of the coolest things about going to the Rose City Classic was seeing the top dogs and handlers in the country. We’re talking big guns that you see on the covers of magazines and splashed all over the back inside cover with a two page spread. Handlers that have stood on the other end of the leash to the #1 dog in the entire country! It’s like seeing the movie stars of the dog show world, rubbing shoulders with them on the red carpet (only it’s green).

One evening as I was heading to the grooming hall (yes, hall, bigger than anything I saw in the Harry Potter movies) I realized I was walking right next to Eira, the #1 terrier in the country! I was thisclose to asking for a photo. Maybe I should have… Twice I showed against professional handlers, one of whom was Susie Olivera. I only spoke to her for a few minutes, but that and some observation were enough for me to realize that Susie is someone I should watch and learn from. (She liked my shoes!) I also loved watching her husband Jorge handle Topper the Affenpinscher, they had such a fun and obvious rapport. Another couple of excellent handlers were the McFadden team, wife Taffe and husband Bill, also folks I hope to observe and learn from.

Eira the Wire Fox Terrier, #1 Terrier in the country! Quite a mover too, handled by Gabriel Rangel (GCH CH Steele Your Heart)

I absolutely adore The Fifinator! Fabulous movement, stunning presence, a truly amazing girl. She's now the #1 dog in the country, all breeds! Handled by Jocelyn Mullins (CH Protocol's Veni Vidi Vici)

Hee hee, it's Kissy the Bloodhound! One of the top hounds in the country and #1 Bloodhound. Handled by Bruce Schultz (GCH CH Quiet Creek's Kiss And Tell)

How could I miss Chet, the #1 Harrier and a top Hound? Expertly handled by Susie Olivera (GCH CH Downhome Hitech Innovator)

GCH CH Brighton Lakeridge Encore, #1 in the Non-Sporting group! Handled by Taffe McFadden

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 25, 2012 in Shows

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Rubbing shoulders with celebrities

  1. Jeyna Grace

    January 28, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    Ah, celebrities indeed.

     
 
