RSS

One of “them”

18 Mar

Yesterday evening Isaac and I were sitting around relaxing when we heard a weird noise from the ceiling. After a pause we heard it again, so of course had to go investigate the attic storage space. First we discussed the different possibilities.

Isaac: “I think there’s a cat in the attic.”
Me: “I don’t think it’s a cat, they don’t move around like that. Way too noisy. I think it’s a ‘possum or maybe a raccoon.”
Isaac: “There’s no way I’m going in there if it’s one of those!”
Me: “Well how am I supposed to sleep tonight knowing a wild animal could pop out at any time?!”
Isaac: “OK, then you go in there and get it! I don’t want to be in a closed space with one of those.”
Me: “Um…well me neither. So can we at least try to see what it is?”

At that point we paused for another listen and concluded that it was a rat stuck in something, struggling to get free. We moved the dressers away from the door to the crawl space and cautiously opened the door to see a gigantic rat barely stuck in some wires not two feet in front of us. Gross! Isaac, of course, says “I’ll be right back” and returns with a weed cutter ho-type thing. Slightly incredulous I asked, “what are you going to do with that?!” Isaac says, “Duh, cut it’s head off.” Okidoki.

As we’re just about to open the door again I grab an empty storage bin just in case the rat raced past him.

Isaac: “What’s that for?”
Me: “In case the rat gets out, I don’t want Wally to find it!”
Isaac: “That’s what he was bred for, to kill rats!”
Me: “Well I have a show next weekend! I can’t have him fighting a rat!”

Yeah, I said it. I was one of those people for a moment.

 
Comments Off on One of “them”

Posted by on March 18, 2012 in Other Stuff

 

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.

 
