RSS

They caught me walking on sunshine

23 Mar

Apparently Wally and I were not alone when I serenaded him with “Wally Dog” sung to a more upbeat tune of “Spider Pig“. We were crossing Montgomery to head home and I needed entertaining (my big toe hurts) so I invented new lyrics. I didn’t realize that a couple with their aged Golden Retriever, whose house I had just passed, was standing on their porch the whole time. I didn’t realize this until they cheerfully — and with a giggle in their voice — waved and said, “hello!” Since I could neither confirm nor deny that they had heard me I just smiled and said “hello!” back, then merrily walked away. Sunshine is the magic fairy dust that makes you not care if people heard you singing a nonsensical song to your dog.

Sunshine is also magical for grooming. I took my grooming table across the street to my neighbor’s yard so I could groom in the sun. Jeff’s only there on Sundays since he bought a house in Seattle and I knew he wouldn’t mind. So Wally got to bitch and moan in the sunshine instead of in front of the kitchen sink. Our street has a fair amount of traffic so plenty of people were amused by the appearance of a dog being groomed roadside. One woman even drove by twice so she could stop and ask me if I groom on the side! She was so impressed with how calm Wally was that she wanted me to groom her dog. I was flattered but referred her to Marion’s granddaughter at Petco. Though I’ve worked in grooming I have no training in haircuts. But I can pull a Border!

All in all we’re ready for tomorrow. I’m probably going to spend the whole day at the show since Sandi is on at 9:30a, Dawn at 12:30p, and us at 2:15p. Going so late kinda sucks! The only good thing is if we made it to Groups we wouldn’t have to wait long. I feel pretty relaxed right now since there aren’t any points at stake. Hope it lasts!

 
Comments Off on They caught me walking on sunshine

Posted by on March 23, 2012 in Wally

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
