RSS

Something crazy just happened!

10 May

We’ve got some big news around these parts! You ready??

*big dramatic pause*

Wally and I are moving to California in about 3 weeks! I got a job as the full-time, live in assistant to professional handler Valerie Nunes-Atkinson. I know, WHAT! Amazing! I’ll be the person responsible for all of her show dogs, doing everything from grooming to conditioning to feeding. After some training I’ll also get to handle some of those dogs in the ring in when there are scheduling conflicts. And I’ll go to shows with her every weekend, acting as ring mistress to the chaos of a handler with 15 or more dogs. Since Val has several Japanese clients there’s also the possibility of going to Japan for shows, and even for the domestic clients we’ll be traveling to shows all over the country. All of my travel expenses will be paid, too!

I’ll be living at the pet resort that she and her husband own, Briarcliffe. So not only will I have an awesome job, I’ll be living in a stunningly gorgeous place! Where it was 90 degrees yesterday while we had 55 degrees and rain. Yeah, I’m jealous of myself.

The best part is that Wally gets to come with me and I can also show him! Even when I don’t show him he gets to come to shows with us. Another benefit is that since I’ll basically be working from home Wally will get to see a lot more of me. So I get a fantastic job and Wally gets more mommy time, plus doggie play time. We both win! And for those wondering, Isaac will stay in WA until we determine how long I’ll be staying in California. If I stay longer than 12 months (and I can literally stay as long as I like) then he’ll start the process of moving down there too. I get the feeling that once I get there I won’t want to leave. I’m looking forward to avocados the size of softballs, produce that costs pennies, sunshine every day, and real summers. Not to mention getting to ride Val’s horses, gonna be awesome!

image

This feels like the beginning of my great story. Every great story starts with a great opportunity, and this is mine. Yes, it’s scary. I’m moving to a new place with people I’ve never met. I’m starting a new job with high expectations and lots to learn. I’m getting thrown into the fray since my first weekend down there we’ll be going to Woofstock, one of the most popular clusters. But it’s going to be a really amazing experience!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 10, 2012 in Other Stuff

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Something crazy just happened!

  1. Doris Farley

    May 18, 2012 at 7:37 am

    What a wonderful opportunity for you.
    Love Doris

     
  2. Brian Rue

    May 12, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    Awesome, congrats!

     
  3. John Walters

    May 12, 2012 at 11:46 am

    It never dawned on me that you would something like this but I applaud it and think it is a great idea. Best of everything!

     
  4. Lenore Feldman

    May 12, 2012 at 12:54 am

    Enjoy every minute and always love what you’re doing…Good luck!

     
 
