RSS

New strippers

28 Jul

How many hits do you think I’ll get for using the word “strippers”?

Shortly after arriving in CA I decided that I needed new stripping knives. Mine were fine for a complete beginner but I’d decided I was ready to move beyond total noob and move up to “aspiring pro”. And an aspiring pro does not use a $10 stripper. A Facebook friend had said something about how much they loved their new Greyhound strippers, but I was promptly informed by Valerie and Peter that real Terrier people use only Pearson knives. Who was I to argue?

After talking to Peter about what I needed I ordered two knives: the finishing stripper (aka straight handle) and the reinforced stripper, both in extra fine.

My new knives!

The knives arrived while I was at the Houston cluster last week (which btw was a blast!), so I didn’t get to use them until this week. Good timing too because Wally was in desperate need of some coat work. I could give you all kinds of semi-legitimate reason why this was so (crazy schedule, exhausted, etc) , but I guess it just boils down to I got lazy. But no more!

“Egad, not the blasted grooming table!”

Keeping in mind the tenet to keep the length consistent (which I’m still practicing), I decided to work in stages. Stage one was Wally’s right side, which I did yesterday morning. We went to lunch with Wally looking ridiculous and certain that Wayne would want to stab me in the hand for letting people see Wally like this.

Right side naked, topline mowhawk, left side hairy beast

Stripping takes a toll on your forearm (think writing with a pencil for hours on end) so the break was nice. Plus Wally always gets obnoxious as I move towards his rear end, so he needed some time to regain his patience (to be honest so do I, a wiggly and whiny Wally gets tiresome). By the time we were done there was a Wally sized pile of coarse hair lying on the floor.

Who knew such a small dog had SO MUCH hair?

So how do I like the new knives? I love them! Stripping is so much easier and with the slimness of the blade I have a lot more control and precision work is a breeze. The handle fits well in my hand and the light weight means my arm lasts longer before wearing out. I’m sold.

Wally is less enthusiastic about the new knives, but he would agree that better strippers means a slightly more tolerable grooming session

 
13 Comments

Posted by on July 28, 2012 in Wally

 

Tags: , , , , ,

13 responses to “New strippers

  1. WireFoxMom

    May 26, 2015 at 8:15 pm

    Great article! Thank you taking the time to share with us.
    My groomer strip my dog but his hair is still really soft and greyish in color.

    I am thinking about learning how to groom mine. Other than the knief recommendation, would you mind recommending a place for a newbi?

    I want to learn the right way to strip (that just sounds so…, :-), I will leave it as that.

    Just want to make sure that I am doing right by my dogs and not hurting them.

    Thank you for your time.

     
    • Cassafrass

      May 27, 2015 at 2:11 am

      Hey there, thanks for the compliment! I’m glad you enjoyed it. I suggest you talk with some folks about learning how to groom: your breeder, handlers at dog shows, your current groomer. They’re going to be your best resource! Good luck!

       
  2. Roberta Chowning

    April 5, 2015 at 5:06 pm

    Hello my name is Roberta, I am very new at all of this. I bought my first Norwich terrier just five months ago and have ernstly persuaded the art of coat care for the terrier. At a recent dogshow I met a terrier man by the name of Andrew who so wonderfully shared his knowledge and experience with me. I must say I learned a tremendous amount from him. When he first came to my grooming area he inquired the whereabouts of my stripping knives. I was quick to produce my entire set of Greyhound knives of which I got the entire set, I also produced several stripping stones. He looked into my sacred box of terrier must haves and say as the gentleman that he is, ” Wonderful I shall return in just a moment.” Off he went, retuning with his precious well worn stripping knife. My lesson with Andrew went very well. Later I inquired to his friend about his knife and was informed that it was a Pearson Knife. I have searched the Internet with very little success and am hoping you could point me in the right direction enabling me to reach a successful goal. In great anticipation Roberta

     
    • Cassafrass

      April 5, 2015 at 5:26 pm

      Hi Roberta, I’m glad you were able to find a good mentor. What did you need help with?

       
  3. Cassafrass

    August 16, 2014 at 9:22 am

    Hi Joella,
    I apologize for the delay in responding; I’m so sorry for your loss. Your husband was a true craftsman and when I use my stripping knifes I can tell he took pride in his work. He and his art will be missed, and I wish you and your family all the best.

     
  4. Joella pearson

    May 31, 2014 at 2:37 pm

    Thank you for the kind comments about the Pearson stripping knives, My husband Monty made each one by hand and really enjoyed it, but he starting getting sick a few years ago with COPD and passed away April 4th 2014. We were married 57 years he was a wonderful father and husband.

     
    • milesandemma

      June 1, 2014 at 1:45 am

      Hi Joella. I noticed your comment, and was greatly saddened to learn of Monty’s passing. Can you please contact me? I am interested in helping to set up a memorial website for him, in the place of the previous Pearson stripping knives website… My email is wildwiry@gmail.com . My Pearson’s knives are so dear to me. Monty’s craftsmanship lives on. His work was legendary.

       
  5. Emma

    August 16, 2012 at 9:29 pm

    Cassie that is really helpful! Thank you. Exactly what I was wondering.

     
  6. Emma

    August 16, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    Thanks for the response — and I must have really been thinking about Pearson when I wrote that because I called your dog the name of the man who makes the knives. Ooops. I meant to say that Wally looks fantastic. I am experienced at stripping (ha) but just haven’t tried the reinforced knife yet. I love the feel of the original ones, so I just was curious of the reinforced one is much different. I will have to satisfy my curiosity by getting one! Like your blog by the way. I liked hearing about your behind the scenes experiences, and the reality of how much work being a handler would be!

     
    • Cassafrass

      August 16, 2012 at 9:05 pm

      LOL, I’m a stripper in progress. ;) The reinforced is heavier, as far as feel. The blade is also thicker (as I tell myself “duh Cassie”) but it feels different when gripping the hair. Which may be why I like it better, it feels grippier on the hair. Glad you enjoy the blog!

       
  7. Cassafrass

    August 16, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    Thanks for stopping by Emma, glad you liked the post! This is what I was told: use reinforced for 90% of the coat, including flatwork; use the straight handle for furnishings and finishing the coat. I got extra fine since even with an extra fine blade you are controlling how much hair comes out by how much thumb pressure you use.

    I’ve found this to be pretty accurate of how I use them, hope that helps!

     
  8. Emma

    August 15, 2012 at 12:03 am

    Hilariously enough, I found your blog by googling stripping knives, not strippers! Anyway, I too love Pearson knives. Just curious, since you now have both styles in the same tooth size, what is the difference? I have the finishing stripper in extra-fine, and then the regular knives in fine and medium. I am considering getting some reinforced knives, so it seems you are a great person to ask about the difference! Ps Monty looks awesome. Now off to check out the rest of your blog…

     
  9. Dan savage

    August 3, 2012 at 5:50 am

    These new stripper are too so nice and i will appreciat for this.

     
 
