RSS

Oh hey there

17 Aug

Sorry for the unofficial hiatus, I’ve been staying busy since my return to the Evergreen State! First I had to recover physically, which took longer than I expected. Maybe I’m getting old (I’m 28), or maybe I was way more out of shape than I realized, but standing/walking 8hr a day on concrete with dogs yanking out my shoulders wreaked havoc on my body. My body was wrung out and strung out, which took a chiro visit and more than a week to fix. I’m back to normal now, though!

Then we had family visiting from out of town, which was actually a lot of fun. They kept me busy with daily excursions to all the nearby towns I take for granted. Sometimes it’s fun to see the familiar from a fresh perspective, and just returning from SoCal made me appreciate certain things that I had never realized I valued. Like grass. Maybe I’m the least informed person on the planet, but it surprised me to learn that most of inland California is dirt. With the exception of irrigated cities, the whole place is brown.

The final thing that’s kept me from blogging, aside from pure laziness? Steve Jobs. Or, rather, his biography. Wow, there is so much I didn’t know about the man. He was a true genius of our time, both artist and shrewd businessman. While I do not admire his legendary arrogance and cruelty, I do admire his ability to innovate and his dedication to what he believed to be true. So yes, I would recommend the book. It’s surprisingly long though! I read it on my Kindle because I’m one of the cool kids. ;)

Finally, here’s a slideshow of our trip from SoCal to Washington. Briefly: picked Mom up at Long Beach in my car containing four bottles of wine, drove up PCH to Monterrey, had lunch in San Francisco (amazing), bought tasty salted pig parts, drove through Shasta after a wildfire, slept in Portland after driving for 16 hours, <3 Portland, made it home with all wine bottles intact.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 17, 2012 in Other Stuff

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Oh hey there

  1. midwestheaven

    August 17, 2012 at 8:25 pm

    LOL…I hear you though…I’m actually a year your junior…but dog shows took me out for the better part of the summer after screwing with my back with all the lifting I was doing! Lifting for a bath…into a big vehicle…or onto a grooming table…it’s tough! Good reminder that we need to take care of ourselves, that’s for sure!

     
    • Cassafrass

      August 17, 2012 at 9:14 pm

      No kidding, so much work goes into it! Non-dog show people have no idea, they think we just prance around the ring and look pretty. :) BTW, your bulldog is so dang cute!

       
  2. Cassafrass

    August 17, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    Thanks for the support guys! And John, while you are correct that half of WA is brown I would argue that it’s not nearly as bad as inland Cali. At least you have something on the ground other than plain old dirt!

     
    • John Walters

      August 18, 2012 at 5:57 am

      Cassie, Yes from what I recall, and it is still vivid 42 years later, interior Ca, (Sacremento area) is dreadfully hot and unpleasant. But when I arived in Wa I thought that the Columbia River would be verdant and green. Then I went to places like Moses Lake and Steptoe and I was disabused of that notion. Idaho is gloriuos and the Cascades and Olympic Penninsula and the sound wow! I loved seing th crops green up the fields in Whitman and places like Elberta were fascinating. I would liek to visit again. I don’t feel like that about Ca. Or at least that part. But Redwood and San Fransciso are pretty nice.
      I am gald you had the experience of something different. It makes descision making easier.

       
  3. Anonymous

    August 17, 2012 at 12:01 pm

    Only 28. Just wait. Glad you are back. By the way interior Washington is mostly brown too. In fact Pullman and surrounding Whitman Cty in autumn is mostly brown stuble if you recall. So when you think of Wash. You think Olypic Penn. I on the other hand think of a pink trailer on California St (yes) in Garfield sitting next to the Grange.

     
  4. carol

    August 17, 2012 at 11:22 am

    It takes a long time to recover from that sort of work stress – so good for you that it didn’t really take that long. Good thing you are JUST 28!
    Hugs

     
 
