RSS

Magic Meatballs, with recipe

24 Aug

As you know, Wally is the only Border Terrier on planet Earth who is a hard keeper. In other words, he doesn’t relish food and loses weight easily. I tried Satin Balls but he just wasn’t that into them. Besides which I was surprised that they mainly consist of cereals, so wasn’t surprised when they didn’t work and he didn’t want them. I was bemoaning my fate to Nancy, a fate that might have involved nefarious ways to make the dang dog gain weight, when she mentioned that she had invented a recipe for weight gain. She called it Magic Meatballs and insisted that it would work and Wally would eat it. She said it would be so enticing that I would want to eat it. Ok, bring it on!

I made these mystical meatballs and whaddya know, he likes them! I have to admit that I haven’t yet been tempted to eat them, but I wouldn’t put it past myself. Looking at the ingredients, they’re all things I like to eat too! Not only does Wally eat them, but they’re also making him gain weight. I made them tennis ball sized and usually give him two at a time. Sometimes he won’t eat all of it but he’s been much more consistent about eating, and not just these meatballs. Now he’s much better about eating other food too. I just started adding K9 Healthy Gainer to the mix, which he’s been eating just fine. Since it’s added I can’t speak to it’s affect stand-alone, but I imagine it’s helping since it adds calories from protein.

And now, the recipe. For show dogs who just need to maintain this would be a great diet supplement to keep on the show weight and as a shuttle for supplements (Show Stopper, SeaMeal, whatever you do). For dogs that need to gain weight this is an awesome food (just add a multi-vit/mineral) since it packs a lot of calories into a small amount of food. That said, I wouldn’t use this long term as a stand alone diet. Wally gets two meat balls once a day, then something else for his second meal. I also add Solid Gold SeaMeal and Solid Gold Bone Meal.

Magic Meatballs
5lb cooked hamburger meat, retaining the grease (I also cooked a bunch of garlic cloves)
6 eggs, raw
4 cups Cheerios
3 cups oats
2 bricks cream cheese
2 cups peanut butter

Combine all ingredients in a very large bowl, let cool to room temperature. Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil. Form mixture into meatballs (softball size for large dogs, tennis ball for med or small dogs, golf ball for very small dogs) and place onto foil, making sure the meatballs do not touch. Place cookie sheets into a freezer; once meatballs are frozen place them into Ziploc bags and keep frozen, thawing as many as you will use in 2-3 days.

 
Comments Off on Magic Meatballs, with recipe

Posted by on August 24, 2012 in Other Stuff

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
