RSS

Get the party started

19 Oct

As usual Emma has some excellent advice on training, this time on how to make sure you’re keeping the party jumpin’ when your dog is learning new behaviors. Like Emma, I too have a hard time being effusive in front of other people. I can be a total goof when it’s just me and Wally, but put us in a training situation and I have to remind myself to keep the focus on where it belongs: us. Unfortunately most trainers think they can just say “don’t worry about what other people think, just be happy!”, a statement that makes me think “shut up, obviously you have no idea how self-consious I’m feeling right now”. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one!

Human Training Tip: Don’t Be Afraid to Sound Silly

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 19, 2012 in Training

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Get the party started

  1. milesandemma

    October 31, 2012 at 12:34 am

    And we shall. We are both west coast girls! It will happen eventually!

     
  2. Emma

    October 25, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    Hey Cassie! I’ve been away from my normal computer and my “out of town” computers didn’t notify me that you’d written. Grr! Thank you for sharing this! I think we’d get along so well in person.. We are so much alike. It is so hard for me to get animated and dorky! Ugh!! Miles has really brought me out of my shell. Finally, now that he is 3, I am able to be a dork and be noisy. Half the battle is convincing myself that I am not being “cutesy.” I HATE cutesy. I think, well at least I’ve convinced myself, that being chipper and hyper-sounding with a dog is different. We are, well, being exciting. NOT CUTESY! Hugs from Emma, Kisses from Miles.

     
    • Cassafrass

      October 29, 2012 at 2:07 pm

      Haha, I’m the same way! I don’t even know how to get my voice all squeaky and high, it’s just not possible. Wally and I get down with our silly selves though, he loves to be goofy.

      We would definitely get along, I hope we get the chance some day!

       
 
