RSS

Best words I ever did hear

21 Oct

Our first BOB win! Many thanks to Judge Leslie Rogers

When Wally won BOB at the GHKC show in Sept I was ecstatic — finally we got the big win! [Of course it’s not the REALLY big win, which is BIS, but that’s a ways off if it ever happens.] Of course I got a photo because duh. As I was arranging Wally on the table like a four legged vase of flowers (in my head I said vaaas) the judge made a point to tell me what excellent condition Wally was in. This, of course, was a huge compliment because just 2 months prior Wally had literally been a bag of bones (due to the stress of living in Cali, in case you weren’t with us then). And it was a huge reward for all the work I did! So what did I do?

First of all, I recognized that Wally’s eating preferences might be obnoxious but they are by no means unreasonable. He doesn’t like eating the same thing at every meal, he needs variety. Ok, no big. I mean, we all need variety, right? If somebody came up with a “100% balanced” people chow, would you eat it every meal, every day? Because it’s 100% balanced, so why not! Of course not. So I embraced Wally’s eating habits and now he (almost) never gets the same thing twice in a row. I also recognized that he likes to play with his food, in a manner of speaking, so I use the Buster Cube. So we rotate between plain kibble, kibble mixed with wet, wet, tripe, raw, and fatty meatballs. My goal is to just make the dude eat!

My jogging partner

Second, we’ve been conditioning regularly. I think this has more to do with Wally’s improved condition than the food does. We go running three times a week following the Couch to 5K program. I run slow enough so that Wally is gaiting the entire time and now we’re up to running for 30min straight. This alone has not only improved his movement — getting him to extend and use himself more — but it has also built up a lot of muscle. I attributeĀ  muscle development in his flank area, not to mention building up leg muscling (particularly the all-important second thigh), to our running regimen.

It sure feels good have all that hard work recognized with a BOB win!

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2012 in Other Stuff, Wally

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Best words I ever did hear

  1. milesandemma

    October 31, 2012 at 12:32 am

    He is a regular winner, and a natural running companion… Wally! You are setting the standard for Border Terriers very, very high! What a great guy. :)

     
    • Cassafrass

      October 31, 2012 at 9:49 am

      Hee hee, sometimes I think that Wally is setting an unrepeatable standard that every BT for the rest of my life will regret!

       
  2. Emma

    October 25, 2012 at 10:56 pm

    Hey, that WAS a big win! You’ve got to keep it all in perspective. Last weekend Miles and I kicked ass at an agility funmatch. I was so proud! Then someone asked me if we took home lots of ribbons, and I shrugged. What the heck! We did, we took home 4 1st places — that counts for a lot, and I need to put it into perspective, and not worry if it “counts.” Sometimes the big picture is, well, too big.

    Wally is so incredibly handsome. How great that you are conditioning together! How is he with running? I take Miles with me, but I think he resents me a little for it. I’d love to hear any tips you have for motivating a pooch to run with no obvious goal in sight! Miles runs a lot every day, but enjoys it most when chasing things. Maybe this is yet another prey drive issue!

    Again, Wally is so studly. Great job, both of you!

     
    • Cassafrass

      October 29, 2012 at 2:02 pm

      Sometimes it’s hard to remember that it’s all for fun! My biggest struggle is that we’ve done a lot of winning, so when we don’t win it’s a foreign and unpleasant feeling. I suppose that’s a good problem to have though. :)

      Not really sure how I motivate Wally, I guess I just take him and he enjoys being out in the world. When he gets slow I give him a pep talk, and every so often I let him pause for a pee. I keep our jogs to 30min or so, which probably helps prevent boredom for both of us!

       
  3. John Walters

    October 21, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    This is great news and I am sure you are happy and please. Keep at it. I am sorry to have been away from the blog for a bit but things have been sort o hectic around here too. Hope to hear from you soon. Keep on it an I am sure you will continue to do great with Wally. He really does look terrific.

     
    • Cassafrass

      October 21, 2012 at 6:41 pm

      Thanks John! Glad to hear from you :)

       
 
