RSS

Another week begins

03 Dec

10pm: go to bed, Wally passes out immediately while I struggle to shut off my brain; finally fall asleep

2am: wake up and reset alarm from 5am to 5:45am, no one wants to be up that early, it’s gonna be a lazy-hair day

5:45am: I roll out of bed while Wally stubbornly refuses to wake up and snuggles deeper in his nest of blanket, I stumble off to the shower disgusted at his luxury

6am: wide awake now I go back to my room to wake Wally; he’s still curled up sleeping so I gently drag him from his nest whereupon he simply lays on his back and stretches his front legs out while cracking an eye to gaze upon me with disdain before dropping his head to the side, too lazy to actually hold it up; I have to carry him upstairs and give him a full-body rubdown to wake him up, he’s still stumbly as we go out for the first potty of the day

Wally is not a morning dog and it’s adorable. I’m actually super lucky that he loves to sleep in: I don’t have to worry about weekend mornings! The one thing I do miss on weekdays is how cuddly he is in the morning. When we’re waking up naturally he’ll come up to the head of the bed (he sleeps somewhere around the midline) and lay flat out on his side on my chest, nuzzling his head under my chin. My heart goes “squeeeeee!” from the adorableness.

image

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2012 in Wally

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Another week begins

  1. Emma

    December 3, 2012 at 11:29 pm

    Ps — the horror stories I have heard of dogs that wake their people up before 5am. On work days, that is rough. On weekends? Oh my gosh. We are good trainers, and, well, we are lucky.

     
    • Cassafrass

      December 4, 2012 at 10:58 am

      I have a friend whose dogs wake them up on weekends, but fortunately she doesn’t mind. But when she talks about it I always feel grateful that Wally doesn’t do that!

       
  2. Emma

    December 3, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    We are so much alike! Miles hates the mornings too. It is as if we’ve raised our dogs to have the lives we wish we could have, and they’ve adjusted accordingly. How funny. ;)

     
    • Cassafrass

      December 4, 2012 at 10:57 am

      Clearly we are awesome! We should patent this secret and sell it for meeeeeeeeellions :)

       
 
