RSS

I’m alive!

14 Dec

Yes, it’s been awhile since I posted, I know. But here I am! Wally is at home giving obese squirrels the hairy eyeball while I contemplate the perfect timing to go get a mondo Starbucks so that I make it through the day. I took an earlier ferry this morning so I could meet with someone on the boat (great meeting too, but that’s for another day) so I’ve been up since stupid-time-o’clock.

As it turns out, commuting is rather exciting. At least on Thursday mornings.

Last Thursday a man had a heart attack shortly after launch. I had the dubious luck to be within viewing distance and watched as WSF crew and medically trained commuters first tried to wake the man, then proceeded to perform CPR for the entire 30min crossing. It’s kind of frightening to see a man with his shirt torn open and his stomach moving in time to the pumping on his chest. Upon arrival a team of EMTs boarded and took over. I disembarked not knowing the end of the story, but hoping for the best. Luckily the next day they announced that the man had stabilized and was doing well. Yay!

Nothing like a crisis right in front of your eyes to remind you of your own mortality.

image

Yesterday (which was Thursday) I had another weird moment on my way to work. I was driving down the two lane highway that goes to the ferry, almost to my turn, when I saw flashing lights. I thought, “oh crap, an accident; hope I make my boat.” As I got closer I saw a Suburban on the opposite shoulder but it looked undamaged. As I inched along, my eye went further up the road and did a double take when I saw the cause of all this drama: a deer was lying in the middle of the road. Not dead. Not obviously injured. Just chilling Bambi-style like my cat takes a nap on the heating vents. It didn’t blink an eye at all the hubbub: cop standing nearby stopping traffic from the opposite direction, cars in my lane cautiously edging onto the shoulder but still only a few feet away. I’m guessing that it had a mild tangle with the Suburban which left it stunned. Hopefully it recovered and wandered off to take more naps.

I just received the BTCA National Specialty special issue, which has been fun. I love to analyze the dogs and see how my placements compare to what the judge decided. Anyway, it has me mulling over the possibility of attending the 2013 specialty, which is in Rhode Island. I really wish the club would be reasonable and put the conformation on a Sat/Sun instead of a Tues/Thurs. Maybe, maybe, maybe. It would be my birthday present to myself. :)

image

 
9 Comments

Posted by on December 14, 2012 in Other Stuff

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “I’m alive!

  1. emma

    December 24, 2012 at 1:49 am

    I agree, it would be awesome for us all to meet in person. We’d have SO much to talk about, to “geek out” about, it would be so much fun.

     
  2. emma

    December 22, 2012 at 7:12 am

    Haha, I should be careful with my enthusiasm, I think I’ve already made that offer to another friend! One crazy hotel room! We’ll see how it all shakes out. I hope all the fun terrier people can go. One big terrier lover party…

     
    • Cassafrass

      December 23, 2012 at 11:43 am

      Hahaha, I can only imagine a handful of terriers all sharing one hotel room! I’ll definitely think on Montgomery, it would be a who’s-who of terriers in attendance! And it would be so fun to meet you and Miles in person!

       
  3. emma

    December 22, 2012 at 1:25 am

    Well, if it helps, I’d totally share a hotel room w/ you and Wally for Montgomery! :)

     
  4. Emma

    December 18, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    *ferries NOT ferriers!! do i have horses on the mind, or something?

     
    • Cassafrass

      December 21, 2012 at 7:07 am

      Thank you so much for your support Emma! I love having a friend further North. :) And I totally thought of horses when I read “ferrier”, it made me giggle.

      Well now that I know you’re going to Montgomery I will have to think about it. I hadn’t even considered it until now! I was thinking maybe Great Western since that’s in Long Beach, but mostly pondering on our Specialty and possibly Eukanuba. A friend of mine has invited me to the GSP Specialty to be her bucket bitch; it would be fun to attend a more glam Specialty (ours is pretty low-key).

      OMG how horrible to see that as a child! I’m so sorry about that. :( It was a bit of a relief to know that in the event of a medical emergency people will put aside any personal reservations and help you. In our litigious society I often wonder if the bystander effect will one day overrule human kindness.

       
  5. Emma

    December 18, 2012 at 10:58 pm

    We are always rooting for you and Wally! Because obviously I like you, but also, because I think you deserve it. Please do keep all of your fans updated on your show life. Is there any chance that you’d go to Montgomery next year? I am very much planning on going to meet all of my terrier friends. That would be awesome if you guys are going too.

    The heart-attack-on-the-ferry sounds quite intense. It is also comforting, as I often wonder when on ferriers, “would there be help if something happened?” It sounds like the man was given good care and a fighting chance. That certainly is reassuring. In some ways maybe it is better that it happened there, in a crowded place, than in his living room when he might be alone…

    Nevertheless it is terrible to watch such a thing. As a child I witnessed a drunk man stand on an escalator rail, and then fall to his death in the Portland Nordstroms. I will never forget seeing that, moment by moment.

     
  6. John Walters

    December 15, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    let me know if you come east. You know how to reach me.

     
    • Cassafrass

      December 15, 2012 at 5:35 pm

      You betcha! It would be around June 26-27. I might visit some Cane Corso breeders while I’m out there and one of them is in CT.

       
 
