RSS

Like a true dog show nerd, I find Eukanuba inspiring

17 Dec

Last night I watched the live stream of Eukanuba 2012 (because for some silly reason they only televised the groups on Sat) and was enthralled. I saw dogs I’d never seen before and plenty of dogs I read about all the time on DSP. I made my guesses and was pleasantly surprised the times when I was wrong, especially when Maya the Border Terrier took down several big name handlers to snatch the Terrier Group 2!

Watching Maya in Group

Watching Maya in Group

Every time I watch one of these big shows, be it Euk or Westminster, I dream about taking Wally to them. I mentally plan my whole show season so that I can peak at Eukanuba and then coast until Westminster. Unfortunately real life makes it difficult to live those dreams: work, money, time. So I’m picking and choosing what to shoot for, making mental calculations based on everything from Wally’s age to who will be campaigning to how many shows I can justify paying to travel to. Showing a special can be complicated!

My thoughts on Eukanuba 2012…

  1. I loved Harley the Saluki, GCH CH Shiraz California Dreamin’, who won RBIS. Funnily enough he was co-bred by my old boss, Valerie Nunes-Atkinson. This dog is classic with gorgeous movement; he also won the 2012 World Show in Europe.

    GCH CH Shiraz California Dreamin' -- Photo by Beuchat

    GCH CH Shiraz California Dreamin’ — Photo by Carol Beuchat

  2. Was totally unsurprised and even expected that Sky, GCH CH Afterall Painting The Sky, won BIS. She’s been on fire all year and I was very happy for Gabriel and his team that they won this prestigious award. She’s always impeccably groomed and a pleasure to watch in the ring!

    GCH CH AFTERALL PAINTING THE SKY -- Photo by Infocusbymiguel

    GCH CH AFTERALL PAINTING THE SKY — Photo by Infocusbymiguel

  3. I was surprised that Fifi, GCH CH Protocol’s Veni Vidi Vici, didn’t win BOB. She did, however, win Best Bred-By in Show! Every time I see Jocelyn Mullins, Fifi’s owner/breeder/handler, free stack the Fifinator I’m filling with longing down to the marrow of my bones. If I own a Doberman one day it’s because of Fifi.

    GCH CH Protocol's Veni Vidi Vici

    GCH CH Protocol’s Veni Vidi Vici

  4. I was pleased to see Maya, GCH CH Meadowlake Simply Sinful, win a Group 2 against very tough competition. All the top terriers were in attendance and it’s quite a feat that she bested all of them except Sky, the one bound for BIS. Props to Maya on her awards and on making the Border Terrier look good!

    GCH CH MEADOWLAKE SIMPLY SINFUL — Photo by Christina Freitag

  5. Other breeds held some less pleasant surprises, with dogs I felt were sub-par winning BOB. In the interest of not being an a-hole I won’t name names, but needless to say we all have our own opinions and sometimes they don’t parallel. That’s part of what makes showing dogs fun: anything can happen.
 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 17, 2012 in Shows

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Like a true dog show nerd, I find Eukanuba inspiring

  1. emma

    December 24, 2012 at 1:48 am

    I couldn’t agree more, as a fellow highly-interested observer. I think this holds true for males and females. Thats all I can say here, but I really, really agree!

     
  2. emma

    December 22, 2012 at 1:21 am

    Thanks for finding those video links Cassie.

    I am in the middle of watching everything, bit by bit. I will probably watch again tomorrow night.

    I just was watching the terrier BOB, and was excited to see Miles’ littermate brother pass right by Maya!!! How exciting. Tommy, you handsome guy you!

    Well, my dream is for me to be at the Blogger’s table watching you and Wally in the ‘big ring.’

    I truly believe that most conformation judging should be applied to mature dogs. I mean, for example, it is difficult to judge a terrier’s true coat until they are at least 2 years old! And by 3-4 years, the dog can actually be judged based on stature, coat, health, etc.

     
    • Cassafrass

      December 23, 2012 at 11:49 am

      That’s so cool that you saw Miles’ littermate! Wally also had a relative in the ring, Gizmo. Wally’s sire is Gizmo’s grandsire, so technically Wally is Gizmo’s uncle? Something complicated like that. ;)

      The maturity aspect is the biggest reason why I haven’t pushed to have Wally in the ring more as a special. I’m convinced his line matures slowly (males anyway) and as I spend more time looking at other breeds (like the Malamute at Euk) I’m even more convinced that males need to be at least 3-4 years old before they’ll really be top contenders. Gotta give the testosterone time to work it’s manly magic. ;)

       
  3. Emma

    December 18, 2012 at 10:52 pm

    What a great report of the show! “Cassie, reporting live from Orlando Florida via her couch!” Hehe. Do you know if there is a link out there to a (obviously not live) copy that those of us who missed it can watch? I too found that the televised airing only happened once! I’d love to watch it, especially after reading your special coverage. If I watch it, I am sure I will post a follow up comment, since I am now dying of curiosity.

    I really don’t think your dreams are out of the question. So many people start later on, and you are so young!

    Maya is stunning.. She really is in peak form.
    Perhaps a future lover for Wally? Hmm? How can he resist…

    Hugs from further North…

     
    • Cassafrass

      December 21, 2012 at 7:00 am

      I did see a blogger’s table…maybe next year. ;) I think some day we’ll be attending these big ones, but it definitely takes a fully mature dog. That Malamute, for example, was 6 years old. I’ve noticed that the vast majority of big winners tend to be 4-6 years old. I think this is partly because most campaigns are 2 years long and start at age two, and partly because the most seasoned and physically mature dogs have a better chance of winning. The maturity thing doesn’t really apply to Toy breeds tho.

      You can find full results here:
      http://classic.akc.org/invitational/2012/index.cfm?text_event_number=2012277101

      BOB Video
      http://www.dogchannel.com/dog-news/2012/10/18/akc-eukanuba-championship.aspx

      Group/BIS Video
      http://www.ustream.tv/celebratedogs

      Hmmm…I guess it’s possible that Karen would look at Wally as a suitor for Maya, I know she’s expressed interest in Wally’s sire. Somehow I doubt it though! :)

       
 
