RSS

Wally is 2 now!

06 Mar

image

On Saturday March 2 Wally turned two years old! I can’t believe he’s officially grown up. So weird to think he’s old enough to breed now. O.o 

What did Wally do for his birthday? Throw a party of course! Unfortunately it turned out to be bad timing all around and only one non-family member made it (thanks Tovi!), but we went to the park anyway. Wally got to explore, chase ducks, and then stop at the pet store for new treats.

image

Wally’s birthday always reminds me of how lucky I am to have him. When I initiated my puppy search in 2010 I was in a serious relationship and we had to agree on the breed of dog. I was reluctant to get another Corso and he mostly didn’t care what it was since really it’d be my dog; we aged that it had to have a fabulous and friendly temperament. So we made a list, which my friend Dawn kept adding to!

The short list included German Shorthair, Border Terrier,  and Belgian Malinois. I’d never even heard of a BT before Dawn, and when I met one at PDFC (from a different local breeder) they moved to the top of my list. Our house was tiny but we didn’t want a tiny dog; Borders have a big dog mentality in a small package, plus amazing temperament was a critical criteria. They sure had that!

Dawn just happened to know Marion, who just happens to have some of the best Borders in the country. We visited, we fell in love, and I was relieved to have found a breeder with the same high standards as me.

So if it hadn’t been for Dawn, Wally would be someone else’s dog and my life would be much less rich. Thank you Dawn for introducing me to Borders and Marion, and thank you Marion for giving me such an amazing puppy!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2013 in Wally

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Wally is 2 now!

  1. Emma

    March 22, 2013 at 10:36 pm

    Happy, happy, happy very belated Birthday to the extremely handsome Mr. Wally!

     
    • Cassafrass

      March 27, 2013 at 7:12 am

      Thank you Emma and Miles, Wally sends his love!

       
  2. donnellday

    March 6, 2013 at 1:14 pm

    Happy Birthday Wally! Our BT Molly is about to turn 2 in April as well – sounds like you had a lovely doggy party!

     
    • Cassafrass

      March 9, 2013 at 4:39 pm

      Thank you! Happy early birthday to Molly! They grow up so darn fast :)

       
 
