RSS

Future therapy dog in the making

10 May

One of the many, many things I hope to one day achieve with Wally is a Therapy Dogs International certification. This would allow Wally to be a therapy dog, something I think he would love. He loves people, is charming, and loves to be the center of attention. Sounds like a perfect fit to me! When he was younger I had my doubts about this goal since his enthusiasm always overwhelmed my 98 year old grandmother. She is my guinea pig since she is the target audience, after all. I knew that he would calm down with age, though, and as Wally has gotten older I’ve become more confident in his TDI future. He takes after his dad, Harley, who is a therapy dog and seems to just know what people need. Nowadays when Wally is around my grandma he’s calm and gentle. I’m so darn proud of him!

He will go nap with her

They like to sit together, at least until one of them gets bored (in this case Oma got bored first :)

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 10, 2013 in Wally

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Future therapy dog in the making

  1. milesandemma

    May 22, 2013 at 11:25 pm

    That is part of it — but do give yourself some credit. Your shaping/training of Mr. Wally probably (definitely) also had a great deal to do with the success you two have had in this area! Go team Cassie & Wally!

     
    • Cassafrass

      June 1, 2013 at 7:16 am

      Thanks Emma! I did work extremely hard to make sure that Wally had the best socialization possible, so it’s satisfying to know it was all worth it in the end!

       
  2. milesandemma

    May 11, 2013 at 11:35 pm

    Great post, on so many levels. I have looked into therapy dog certification many times, and have been curious how one chooses an organization for therapy dog work. There seem to be so many, and I can’t tell which are the best.

    Again, tracking the difference between well-trained Welsh terriers and Border terriers is fascinating for me. The fact that Wally is calm enough to be very safe around elders at just over 2 years old.. That is mind-blowing to a Welsh terrier person like me. Mind blowing! Miles, at nearly 4 years old, is just beginning to be (100% supervision required) okay around my 89-year-old Nana. And she is very, very strong and active for her age.

    Your Oma is lovely, and the fact that Wally has calmed down enough to truly bond with her… How amazing, how special. You will have and reflect on these pictures for life. What a sight.

    I just love this post.

     
    • Cassafrass

      May 19, 2013 at 1:13 pm

      I’m not sure how I picked TDI, I guess somewhere years ago they just stuck with me as “the one”. :) I think Wally inherited some of his elderly-whispering skills from Harley. I admit I’m also shocked that Wally does so well with her! I think a huge part of it is that we’ve been living at home, with Oma also living there, since August. The daily interaction makes a huge difference!

       
 
