RSS

Like any sport, it takes a winning strategy

21 May

In prior posts I’ve mentioned that serious show competitors have a strategy. They don’t enter shows willy nilly and dogs don’t drop off the face of the show planet for no reason — there’s always something behind those decisions. Below is a perfect example of this, where someone thought carefully about their show weekend.

I’ve done some of this myself with Wally. Just having turned 2 in March, he really wasn’t mature enough to be incredibly competitive as a special. Then we went through a few months where I simply didn’t have the time to make showing a priority and as a result Wally lost his show conditioning and coat quality dropped due to lazy grooming. Had I chosen to show him anyway it would have left a poor impression on judges and competitors, in addition to being a waste of time and money. Instead we’re taking some time off to mature and play, not to mention wait for Baby Girl to come around. Then we’ll see about getting back in the ring!

Show Strategy

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 21, 2013 in Shows

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Like any sport, it takes a winning strategy

  1. Larisa Hotchin

    June 2, 2013 at 2:15 am

    Sounds good! I love your blog. It is both interesting and informative.

     
  2. Larisa Hotchin

    May 31, 2013 at 1:50 pm

    I saw your article above from what I wrote about my young dog and my experience in the ring. I am not sure why you made this note annonomyous. I am not ashamed at what I did and would do it again. I gave someone else the opportunity for the BOB win for the next 3 days. I didn’t break any majors. And, like you said about Wally, my young 10 month old boy really would not have been competitive at serious competitions as a special/champion. Since you left in the reference to “welsh terrier” and I come from a much smaller (in numbers) breed then yours and the reference to both countries. Most people in the show world would easily know this is me. Again, I would have done it again. I was both thrilled and confused that weekend. I don’t usually pull dogs and it wasn’t thought out well before hand. In fact, I was not expecting my junior boy to defeat 3 specials those 2 days and get 2, 5 points majors.
    But – for newbies, I guess it is useful for people to know that sometimes when a dog doesn’t show up, there are reasons for it – or if they stop showing for a little while.

     
    • Cassafrass

      May 31, 2013 at 1:56 pm

      I apologize for any misunderstanding or offense, I only anonymized it because it didn’t seem relevant who did it so much as why. I found it highly admirable to make what was certainly a tough call, which is why I shared it. As someone who’s only been in the sport for 2 years it’s fascinating to examine ask the “behind the scenes” goings on :)

       
 
