RSS

Cool Idea: Use an old USB Flash Drive as a Dog ID

08 Feb

I saw this on Lifehacker and just had to share because it’s a simple but very effective idea! One of my worst fears is that one of my dogs will get lost. Of course they both have microchips, but unless the finder takes them to the vet that won’t get scanned. They also have ID tags, but what about Fiona with her food allergies? How do I communicate that? What about a dog that requires daily medication?

Solution: hang a small USB flash drive from their collar! Create a text file with all of the info you want people to know: your info, your dog’s info, any special needs, possible behavior issues, etc.

With small dogs like mine this is probably not something I would do on a day-to-day basis — I hate having multiple tags hanging from their collars. But when traveling? Oh yeah! I can write a book about my dogs, including my travel itinerary. No more worries!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 8, 2014 in Other Stuff

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Cool Idea: Use an old USB Flash Drive as a Dog ID

    • Cassafrass

      February 15, 2014 at 12:28 pm

      Nice, the perfect one!

       
 
