RSS

Glorious Summer

02 Sep

I’m a little late to the game since it’s now September, but it’s hot out there people. Not so much here in the PNW (we’re already sliding into fall weather), but other places. Here are some things I think are cool and you might too!

This article says everything I would say if I had thought of it:

 It’s getting HOT in here, so…..bust out the windows of that car that isn’t yours?

 

This stuff would be pretty handy if you were at outdoor shows or events with your dog:

Cooling Gear for Summer Adventures with Dogs

 

And here’s my newest setup in the JSW! The challenging thing about wagons is that the very back windows don’t open, so air doesn’t circulate as well. This is especially bad when it gets both hot and stuffy. To keep the pups happy and healthy Isaac and I came up with this nifty solution. The blue crate fans are battery operated while the black oscillating fan plugs into the 12V outlet in the back, which only operates when the car is on. So the crate fans get the air into the crates when the car is parked, and the oscillating fan keeps air circulating while we’re driving. Pretty clever, no? And, to stop the crates from sliding around while driving, we applied Velcro to some stakes and placed one in front of each crate, plus one longer one to the left (you can barely see it here). It’s the perfect setup!

20140901_125304

Ta daaa!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2014 in Other Stuff

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Glorious Summer

  1. Emma

    September 3, 2014 at 10:40 pm

    Thanks for the shout out. Love the crate fans, and how clever to have the other one set up so you don’t even have to turn it on and off! Great idea.

    I never thought I’d say this… But I am so dang relieved it is getting cooler out. I don’t think I could handle going to another trial this year if I had to haul around all of my cooling gear / tents / tons of water / big cooler / ice etc. Ugh. Dogs and excessive heat just don’t mix.

     
    • Cassafrass

      September 4, 2014 at 6:12 am

      I love summer, but terriers just do not do well in heat! And I realized yesterday just how handy it is to wear coats, jackets, and hoodies most of the year since during those times I always have treats on me :) So I’m ok with fall coming!

       
      • milesandemma

        September 11, 2014 at 12:36 am

        I never thought that SUMMER would be Miles and my agility enemy! I mean, with a terrier, there are so many things already going against us, that in the beginning, this impediment never occurred to me. This year, I tried again to do really hot trials with Miles, and he shut down. People were like “oh, I know what its like with a low drive dog. Try ____.”

        They just don’t know…. He’s a true terrier.
        High Drive, Hates the Heat.

         
 
