RSS

Poor boy

09 Sep

Today Wally had the dubious honor of spending the day at the vet — last night he somehow sprained his tail. I have no idea how he did it (probably just being his crazy self and whacking it on something), but the change in his demeanor was so dramatic that it scared me! Usually he’s bouncy, happy, and “up”. After it happened he was tense, restless, and moved stiffly though without lameness. He wouldn’t move his tail, his ears were tucked back, and his back was slightly hunched.

Now, to some people this might have seemed like no big deal. He let me palpate his tail and entire body without complaint, so it must not be that bad, right? This is where knowing your dog makes all the difference! I know Wally, so I immediately knew that something was terribly wrong. It became clear that although he was still jumping on furniture and eating ravenously, he was in a great deal of pain. I talked to one of my dog friends about it (his auntie) and she told me a story about her Flat-Coat pulling a muscle in his back and the only symptom was stress panting.

Fortunately it’s just a sprain, which is exactly what I was hoping for (it sure beats a broken tail). We got our painkillers and anti-inflammatory meds, then headed home to take a nap.

 
Comments Off on Poor boy

Posted by on September 9, 2015 in Wally

 

Comments are closed.

 
