RSS

A follow-up on training fearful show dogs

28 Jul

You remember that blog I posted with a review of the Puppy Culture Rockstar Show Puppies DVDs, and I talked about training Ava for the show ring? I mentioned that it was a challenge to find +R handling classes and that many people in the dog show world subscribe to more traditional views of dog training and behavior.

Recently I found this article by Vicki Ronchette from Positive Training for Show Dogs, Helping Fearful Show Dogs, and repeated “YES” to myself as I read it. She accurately captures my experience of trying to train Ava for the show ring. I had even come up with a training plan very similar to the one she laid out but I couldn’t get any buy-in on it from the instructors I tried. Can you blame me for resorting to DVDs rather than real people?!

You are the expert on your dog. Always do what’s right for your dog, regardless of what a trainer, handler, breeder, friend, etc. tells you. And if they can’t respect that then you probably shouldn’t be asking their advice in the first place.

Doodles

 
Comments Off on A follow-up on training fearful show dogs

Posted by on July 28, 2017 in Shows, Training

 

Tags:

Comments are closed.

 
